Chicken Adobo

So I mentioned recently how much I prefer chicken breasts to chicken legs or thighs. Every once in a while though, I try to convince myself that I actually do like dark meat, because there’ll be an awesome sale on it that I just can’t resist, and it’s regular price is always sooooo much cheaper! A couple of months ago there was an awesome sale on thighs and legs, and I picked up a bunch. The price was just too good to resist. I used a few, but the remaining chicken went into my freezer where it has lingered for a while now. Since I am still on “Operation Clean Out the Fridge” I knew I needed to use up those thighs and legs… but what should I make? Chicken adobo popped into my mind. I made it probably over a year ago, and it was delicious, so I decided it was the perfect recipe to make. It’s one of only a few ways I’ve actually enjoyed eating chicken thighs…. and bonus, I had all the ingredients!! It’s amazing how only a few ingredients which are already staples in my pantry, can make such a flavorful and delicious meal. Soy sauce, apple cider vinegar, water, garlic, and pepper, and of course the chicken, are all you need. Β I served my chicken over rice to take advantage of the delicious sauce! Yum!

Chicken Adobo

Chicken Abobo

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1/2 cup soy sauce (I used reduced sodium soy sauce)

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

1 cup water

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

3 lbs chicken thighs (or a combination of thighs and legs)

Directions:

1. Place a large skillet or crockpot over medium-high heat, and add all the ingredients except for the chicken. Bring to a boil. Add the chicken in a single layer, reduce heat to medium-low, cover and cook for 30 minutes, turning chicken halfway through.

2. Preheat the broiler, and place one of the racks 3-4 inches from the heat. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. When the chicken is done, place on the baking sheet, leaving the sauce in the skillet or Dutch oven. Broil the chicken for 5 minutes on each side. Meanwhile, place the skillet or Dutch oven with the sauce back on the stove over high heat. Bring to a rapid boil, and cook until the sauce is reduced to about a cup. Serve the chicken with the sauce.

Source:Β All Day I Dream About Food

Leave a Reply

