Funfetti Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

So the other day I decided my pantry needed a major overhaul. It had been fairly organized in the past, but I had way too many bags of randomness (a little farro here, some leftover hazelnuts there). Just the sort of clutter that can arise when you start trying to shop more often from the bulk bins. I bought a bunch of canning jars and went to work, and organizing mainly the grains/pastas/legumes/nuts/seeds that I have, as well as the baking section in my pantry. Here are some pictures, if you are interested!

Messy pantry

 

Organized

 

Organized Pantry

 

A little better, right?! When I was organizing things, I came across 2 unopened containers of colorful sprinkles. These are not something we ordinarily use, and I had totally forgotten they were in my pantry. Making homemade funfetti cupcakes popped into my head right away. I love the funfetti cake made out of the boxed mix, but I really try to avoid buying those mixes, and I knew that I could make a homemade version. I started searching the web, and I came across a recipe on Annie’s Eats, one of my favorite blogs, who’s pretty much an expert on cupcakes. These were delicious, and came out looking just like the funfetti cupcakes from the mix. In my opinion, they were the best on the first day I made them, and everyday after got a little bit drier, so I’d definitely recommend eating them within a day or two of making them, for the most delicious result. I did use 2% milk rather than whole milk as that is what I had in my refrigerator  so perhaps this is why they dried out fairly quickly. Nevertheless, these were a great way to use up some of those random sprinkles…now what to do with the rest?!?!

Funfetti cupcakes with chocolate frosting

Funfetti Cupcakes

Makes about 24

Ingredients:

1 cup whole milk, divided

6 large egg whites

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

2 3/4 cup (11 oz) cake flour, sifted

1 1/2 cups (10.5 oz) sugar

1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

12 Tbsp (3/4 cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup multi-colored sprinkles

One batch chocolate frosting (recipe follows)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a couple of muffin tins with cupcake liners.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together 1/4 cup of whole milk, egg whites, vanilla extract and almond extract. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt to the bowl of an electric mixer, and mix about 30 seconds on low speed, to combine. Add the butter and mix on low speed about 30 seconds more, until the mixture looks like wet sand. Add the remaining 3/4 cup of milk, and mix for about 90 seconds more on medium speed. Then lower the speed to low, and add the egg white mixture in three batches, mixing about 20 seconds for each addition. Scrape down the bowl every once in a while. Add the sprinkles, and gently fold in.

3. Fill the cupcake liners evenly with the batter (I like to use a large cookie scoop to do this). Each liner should be about 2/3 of the way full. Bake for about 18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean. Rotate the pans once during cooking. Let cool for a few minutes in the pan, and then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack. When cool, frost with the chocolate frosting (or other flavor frosting, if desired).

Source: Annie‘s Eats (from Sweetapolita)

Chocolate Frosting

Will frost 1 9-inch round layer cake or 24 cupcakes

Ingredients:

1 cup butter (2 sticks), softened

1/2 cup cocoa powder, sifted

5 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

3-4 Tbsp milk

Directions:

1. Add the butter and cocoa powder to a large bowl, and whip until smooth. Add the powdered sugar and vanilla and stir together. Slowly add the milk until the frosting reaches your desired consistency  Whip until fluffy and smooth, a couple minutes. Alternately you could do this in the bowl of an electric mixer instead, and let it do the work for you!

Source: Lauren’s Latest

4 thoughts on “Funfetti Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

  1. Pantry looks great ! Doesn’t it feel great to open the pantry and have it be organized? Cupcakes look great too ! I guess it would’t be to hard to at them all in a day or two 🙂 We went to an awesome kitchen store that you would have loved yesterday. It was in a really nice little town outside of Austin called Wimberly. I bought some cool plates for tacos and finally found decaf snickerdoodle coffee!!!

Leave a Reply

