Roasted Parmesan Green Beans

I think the first time I made these, was the first time Ron ever went back for seconds on vegetables. I know, I was shocked too! In fact, he said these were actually his favorite part of the meal. He calls them the potato chips of vegetables 🙂 It’s amazing what roasting a vegetable can do! These roasted green beans are such a simple side dish, but they add something special to any meal you serve them with.

Roasted Parmesan Green Beans

Roasted Parmesan Green Beans

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 lb Green Beans, trimmed

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp salt, plus more to taste

Freshly ground black pepper

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (or more or less depending on how cheesy you want them!)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

2. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, and on the baking sheet toss together the green beans and olive oil. Add the 1/2 tsp of salt, and mix together. Spread out in an even layer.

3. Place in oven, and bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven, toss beans with tongs to move around a bit. Place back in the oven and back for another 10-12 minutes, until the beans are starting to shrivel and are dark in spots.

4. Remove from oven, season with salt and pepper to taste, and sprinkle with the Parmesan cheese.

Source: Adapted from Skinnytaste and  The Cook’s Illustrated Cookbook

4 thoughts on “Roasted Parmesan Green Beans

  1. These are definitely on the regular rotation of vegetables now! It’s funny…I grew up with vegetables made one way, boiled to death! No wonder we didn’t like very many of them! Now I either lightly steam or roast or grill almost all my vegetables and I love them 🙂 When I try a new veggie for the first time, chances are I will roast them! Congratulations on getting Ronnie to actually LOVE a vegetable!!!…….now if only we could get Craig on board 🙂

    • Haha, I don’t think that’ll ever happen 🙂 I’ve loved vegetables since as long as I can remember- luckily my mom really was great at cooking them to make them appetizing!!

Leave a Reply

