Antioxidant Smoothie

When I was doing the Whole Living 2013 Action Plan, one of the things I loved about it were the smoothies that you start your mornings with the first week of the plan. They really made me feel like I was starting the day on the right foot, fueling my body with good things from the get-go. I feel like they are something I need to incorporate back into my daily life… not necessarily as a breakfast, but either a breakfast or snack during the day. Since I’m not a huge fruit eater, these smoothies were such a good way to get fruit into my body. This antioxidant smoothie was one of my favorites of the cleanse, and it couldn’t be simpler. Mixed frozen berries, unsweetened pomegranate juice, and water- that’s it. They make a refreshing, healthy smoothie that contains lots of nutrients and antioxidants that will make you feel like you are doing something good for your body. Don’t be surprised if you see a lot more recipes for smoothies on here 🙂  (Also- I’d love to get a juicer soon and start experimenting with making some juice!)

Antioxidant Smoothie

Antioxidant Smoothie

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1 cup (4.5 ounces) mixed frozen berries

1/2 cup unsweetened pomegranate juice

1/2 cup water

Directions:

1. Add all the ingredients to a blender, and blend until smooth. Easy peasy!!

Source: Whole Living

4 thoughts on “Antioxidant Smoothie

  1. I love smoothies too! Now that the warm weather is here a smoothie made with frozen fruit is sooooo refreshing too! Once pick your own berries start, it would be fun to go pick blueberries, raspberries,and strawberries and freeze them so you have a healthy supply all year. They are so easy to freeze and cost less then buying the frozen ones . Of course on our future homestead we would just grow them all 🙂

  2. Your timing with this post is impeccable! Jeff and I were just talking about how we wanted to switch back to having these yummy smoothies for breakfast, so we bought the berries and pomegranate juice today. It really makes me feel like I’ve started my day off right when I drink a healthy, fruity smoothie!

    • It’s funny how, when we began the cleanse, I really thought a smoothie in the morning wouldn’t be substantial enough for a breakfast, but it ended up being one of my favorite parts. There are soooo many awesome smoothie recipes on the Whole Living website- I’m really looking forward to trying more of them!

Leave a Reply

