Perfect Roasted Potatoes

Happy Friday everyone! I am so excited for the weekend and I plan on doing a lot of relaxing! Tomorrow it is supposed to be a chilly, rainy day here in Connecticut so I am just going to take that as I sign that I am not meant to go out , and am supposed to spend the day on the couch watching movies. Every once in a while these dreary days are welcome… especially since after tomorrow it looks like we’ll have a stretch of nice weather. It seems to be time to assess my summer clothes situation, and see what I have and what I need. I already know that I NEED these lobster-print shorts from Old Navy… so cute! I am loving all the printed shorts this year. They are having a summer sale this weekend, so I might have to go out and buy them. They also have really cute bathing suits, which reminds me I need to buy a couple soon, rather than waiting until August as I did last year- I always seem to wait until the last minute, and then am digging through racks of the leftovers, rather than buying a swimsuit I actually like.

Anyway… these potatoes were so good, and such a simple side. This is adapted from a Jamie Oliver recipe (I love Jamie Oliver!). They are parboiled to soften them up, then roughed up a little to expose more surface area to increase crispiness, and then roasted with some herbs and garlic until crispy. These would make a great side to so many things- I served them on the side of this lemon-thyme chicken, and they accompanied it perfectly, alongside a side of roasted broccoli.

Perfect Roast Potatoes

Perfect Roasted Potatoes

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 lb russet potatoes, peeled, and sliced into 1-inch disks

Olive oil, enough to grease baking sheet and to toss potatoes with

3 sprigs of rosemary or thyme (or a combination of both)

4 garlic cloves, unpeeled but lightly smashed

1 Tbsp salt, or to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Add potatoes to a large pot, and add enough water to cover potatoes by one inch. Lightly season water with salt. Bring to a boil, and boil about 5 minutes (they will not be cooked at this point, they’ll finish cooking in the oven).

3. Drain in a colander, and toss around a bit to scuff up the potatoes a bit. Allow to dry in the colander.

4. Line a baking sheet with foil, and add enough oil to grease the baking sheet with. Add the rosemary and/or thyme sprigs. Add salt to the baking sheet. Dump out the potatoes on the baking sheet and toss with the salt/oil/herbs. Scatter the garlic cloves on the pan.

5 Place in oven, and cook about 40-50 minutes, flipping once, until the potatoes are crispy and golden brown.

Source: www.smokywok.com (who adapted it from Jamie Oliver)

4 thoughts on “Perfect Roasted Potatoes

  1. First of all, you do need to buy those shorts…they are so cute 🙂 And secondly, these potatoes look delicious! I love roasted potatoes probably better then any other kind.

    • I think they are some of the cutest shorts I’ve ever seen 🙂 I think that my favorite type of potatoes are baked stuffed potatoes… which reminds me that it’s been far too long since I’ve made them!

Leave a Reply

