Ultimate Nachos

I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend! I did, although I swear this weekend went by in the blink of an eye…. and isn’t the first day back to work after a long weekend the worst?!?! I felt like I was tired and just dragging all day long. Hopefully tomorrow my brain will be working better 🙂

I made these nachos for Cinco de Mayo this year. They are one of our favorite appetizers (and I will admit that we sometimes make a meal of them). I’ve made them for Super Bowl Sunday, and Ron has requested them for his birthday. They are my most favorite nacho recipe, and while they are pretty minimal, they are fantastic. The method of making them may seem a little fussy, but this guarantees even coverage of all the toppings on every chip. I love the spiciness of the jalapenos, but if you’d like to tone it down a bit you can remove the seeds and place a jalapeno on every other nacho instead of all of them. I really love loaded nachos too (and should really make some soon- maybe this recipe or this one), but I think this particular recipe will always be my favorite.

Ultimate Nachos

Ultimate Nachos

Ultimate Nachos

Ultimate Nachos

Makes about 6 servings (or less if you are like me!)

Ingredients:

80 tortilla chips

3-4 jalapenos, thinly sliced (you can remove the seeds if you’d like these milder)

4 1/2 ounces (about 1 cup) red onion, diced

6 oz (about 2 1/4 cups) cheddar cheese, finely grated

6 oz (about 2 1/4 cups) Monterey Jack cheese, finely grated (you can substitute Oaxaca cheese if you can find it)

2 Tbsp fresh oregano, finely chopped

Optional for serving:

Salsa

Guacamole

Sour Cream

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and set one oven rack on the lowest setting, and the other on the highest.

2. Line a baking sheet with foil. Make 8 balls of tinfoil. Take 3 cooling racks, and spray them with nonstick cooking spray. Place one of the racks on the prepared baking sheet, and place a ball of aluminum foil in each corner (this will support the next cooling rack as you will be laying it on top of the aluminum foil balls.

3. Place 1/3 of the chips in a single layer on the cooling rack. Place a jalapeno slice on each chip. (Or every other chip to decrease spice level). Sprinkle 1/3 of the red onions over the chips,1/3 of the cheddar cheese, and 1/3 of the Monterey jack cheese. Place the second cooling rack on top of the aluminum foil balls, place the remaining balls in the corners, and repeat with the next third of the chips, jalapenos, and toppings. Lay the remaining cooling rack on top, and finish with the remaining chips and toppings.

4. Place in oven, and bake for 7 minutes. Remove from oven, and sprinkle nachos evenly with oregano. Serve with desired condiments.

Source: Alton Brown

9 thoughts on “Ultimate Nachos

  1. I have heard rave reviews about these nachos from Ronnie and Joey! Now that I have the recipe I can make them too 🙂

  2. Pingback: Relaunch of Chiquitos! | The Weird, The Wonderful and The Awful

  3. Pingback: Takeaway Favourties: Nacho Tower! | The Weird, The Wonderful and The Awful

  4. Pingback: Bacon-Wrapped Potato Bites with Chipotle-Sour Cream Dipping Sauce | I'll Have Seconds!

Leave a Reply

