Gulf Coast-Style White Rice Pilaf

Gulf Coast-Style White Rice Pilaf

I served this rice pilaf on the side of the red chile enchiladas and it went perfectly. Usually I just cook rice very plainly because it is something I don’t have to follow a recipe for and  sometimes I really like simplicity, but I wanted something more exciting to go alongside the enchiladas. This was still a very simple recipe with just a few more steps than basic white rice, but it was so much more flavorful. I loved the garlickyness of it as garlic is one of my favorite flavors, and while I really love tomato-based Mexican rice, this was a nice alternative to accompany a Mexican-themed meal.

Gulf Coast-Style White Rice Pilaf

Gulf Coast-Style White Rice Pilaf

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

1 1/2 tbsps vegetable or olive oil

1 1/2 cups white rice

1 small white onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed

1 3/4 cup chicken broth

Salt

3 Tbsp flat leaf parsley, coarsely chopped (for garnish)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and put rack in center position.

2. Add oil, rice and onion to a medium oven-proof saucepan, over medium heat. Cook for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently, until the rice turns to a milky-white color. Add the garlic and cook for about 30 seconds, until fragrant. Add chicken broth and 1 tsp salt. Stir to combine, and bring to a boil.

3. Place into the oven and bake for 25 minutes. Remove from the oven, let sit for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork and add chopped parsley.

Source: Mexican Everyday

4 thoughts on “Gulf Coast-Style White Rice Pilaf

  1. I will give this recipe a try this week as rice pilaf is one of my favorite sides! I make a lot of rice and whenever we go out to eat I will always choose rice pilaf over potatoes.

Leave a Reply

