Thai Ginger Chicken Stir-fry

I hope everyone has had a great start to their weekend! It was a beautiful warm and sunny day here in Connecticut- a perfect day for the beach, a picnic, a barbecue, or for just being lazy and doing nothing (my preferred activity)! I needed a nice relaxing day, and other than doing my grocery shopping for next week, relaxing is exactly what I did. I woke up late, made breakfast for Ron and myself (omelets and bacon), did some meal planning, and watched some TV…. very exciting, I know 🙂 I’m hoping tomorrow will be even more relaxing, as I don’t have any reason to have to go anywhere. I’m thinking catching up on my magazines and reading books will be my big plans for tomorrow. I am in a book club which I love, and just started our next monthly book- The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I’ve heard great things about it, and even though it is a young adult book I’ve heard it’s worthwhile reading for adults as well. I’m trying to prepare myself for it though, as it is about kids with cancer, and I’m a little afraid I will be crying while reading this book. I’ll be keeping some tissues handy.

Anyhoo… onto the recipe.

Like this broccoli and shrimp stir-fry, this chicken and ginger variation is super-simple and super-flavorful! I feel like once you have some pantry staples (at least things that I would consider staples) like oyster sauce, fish sauce, hoisin sauce, Sriracha, chile-garlic sauce, and so on, a stir-fry is only a few moments away. Pretty much any kind of protein works (chicken, pork, beef, shrimp, tofu), many vegetables (peppers, broccoli, carrots, snow peas, onions, etc), and then some flavorful additions like garlic and ginger, and you are good to go! It takes only a few minutes, and you have a healthy and tasty dinner on your hands.
Thai Ginger and Chicken Stir-Fry

Thai Ginger Chicken Stir-Fry

Serves 2

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp fish sauce

1 Tbsp oyster sauce

1 tsp sugar

2 Tbsp grapeseed, canola or other high-heat oil

8 oz boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut crosswise into 1-inch pieces

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 scallions, trimmed, and cut crosswise into 1-inch pieces

1 red pepper, thinly sliced

1/2 cup onion, thinly sliced (about 1/2 a small onion)

2 Tbsp fresh ginger, cut into matchstick-size pieces

Cooked white or brown rice, for serving

Directions:

1. Mix together the fish sauce, oyster sauce and sugar in a small bowl.

2. Heat a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add the oil, and swirl pan so that it coats the bottom. Add the chicken, and cook in an even layer, about 1-2 minutes, without moving. Add garlic, and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add the scallions, red bell pepper, onion, ginger and sauce and cook for 2-4 minutes more, stirring frequently, until the chicken is cooked through. Serve over rice.

Source: The Kitchn

5 thoughts on “Thai Ginger Chicken Stir-fry

  1. That looks wonderful! It’s funny…just a few weeks ago I stocked my freezer with some frozen organic stir-fry vegetables and after our last trip to Austin, some meats and rices for stir-fry. Now I just have to finish getting the pantry staples. I don’t have fish sauce, hoisin sauce or sriracha. I will probably get them next week and put stir-fries on the menu almost every week…starting with this one 🙂

    • There are so many types of awesome stir-frys so having a whole week of them sounds awesome! Fish sauce is used in a lot of stir-frys and other Asian dishes… it’s smell can be a little off-putting on its own, but once mixed with a sauce, it just adds a delicious saltiness and flavor. Sriracha is very spicy, so I would definitely recommend using very little at a time! I hope you enjoy this one!

  2. I am always afraid to try stir-frys because I used to not follow recipes with them and never got the flavors right. I will try this because it sounds easy and delicious! I do have to get some of those sauces like the fish and oyster. Thanks!

    • I think the balance of flavors is definitely the most important part in making a good stir-fry… that and simplicity. I think the best stir-frys are composed of only a few ingredients. You’d think more would be better, but not in this case!

  3. Pingback: Healthy Thai Style Shrimp Stir-Fry | Inspirations Fine Catering, Inc.

Leave a Reply

