Zucchini-Scallion Fritters

I’ve always wanted to be one of those people who have a problem with too much zucchini… that’s one of my goals in life. I always hear people complaining about the abundance of zucchini when it’s in season- whether they grow it themselves, or have neighbors who are dropping it off on their doorstep in the middle of the night. It seems to me that it would be a great problem to have. I’ve never grown zucchini myself, but I’m thinking that next year I’m going to give it a try. I love zucchini so much… and it’s just so versatile! You can have it simply sauteed, or steamed, boiled, or roasted. Add it to a stir-fry, stuff it with a filling, put it in bread or a cake. Or make fritters! Yesterday Ron’s mom reminded me that a couple of years ago Everyday Food Magazine put out a special summer issue which was filled with great seasonal recipes. I flipped through it yesterday and remembered just how many of those recipes I wanted to try. Needless to say, I put a few on my menu for this week. She had mentioned that she made the zucchini fritters, and I just had to make them immediately. Fritters are amazing… vegetable pancakes, latkes… I love them all. Have you seen the fritters on Smitten Kitchen?! These, and these, and these are calling my name! These zucchini-scallion fritters are awesome- quick, simple and delicious. My kind of food. Have them as a side dish, or eat them for your dinner, like I may have done. The sour cream is a great accompaniment, but I don’t think it’s necessary. Make these when your zucchini comes in, and I don’t think you’ll be complaining about the abundance anymore. I wouldn’t 🙂

Zucchini-Scallion Fritters

Zucchini-Scallion Fritters

Serves 4 (Makes about 10-12 fritters)

Ingredients:

3 medium zucchini (about 1 lb), coarsely grated

Coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 large egg

2 scallions, finely chopped

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup vegetable oil

Sour cream, for serving

Directions:

1. Place grated zucchini in a colander, and mix with 1 tsp salt. Place in the sink (as liquid will be dripping out), and let sit for 10 minutes. Drain as much liquid from zucchini as possible. (I placed my zucchini in a clean sackcloth towel and wrung it out, but you could use cheesecloth, or press down on it in the colander to get the liquid out.)

2. In a large bowl, beat the egg. Add the zucchini, scallions, flour, and 1/4 tsp black pepper. Mix together until well combined.

3. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Fry fritters in two batches. Drop  about 2 Tbsp of the batter per fritter. Press down with the spoon or a spatula to flatten a bit. Fry about 2-3 minutes on each side until golden brown. Place on a paper towel-lined plate to drain, and sprinkle with salt. Serve with the sour cream.

Source: Everyday Food: Special Issue (Summer 2011)

4 thoughts on “Zucchini-Scallion Fritters

  1. Wasn’t I surprised to see the title of this article !?!? Weren’t these amazingly delicious? I could definitely eat just these for dinner ;0 And I agree that you don’t even need the sour cream because they were so tasty, but It’s a nice little indulgence.

    • I just couldn’t stop thinking about them after you told me you had made them, so I decided that since Ron is working tonight, I would make them for myself for dinner! I loved them 🙂

  2. I feel so lucky to have bought 4 baby zucchini at the farmer’s market yesterday! Now I know what to do with them!

Leave a Reply

