Spicy Sausage Pasta Skillet

Who is ready for the 4th of July? My plans include going to a cookout at my parent’s house, eating some ribs, celebrating my dad’s birthday (belatedly), and not much else… which is just the way I want it! I do think fireworks can be fun to see, and are really pretty, but I hate fighting the crowds that come with going to a fireworks show. I am just not that into being in large crowds of people. It can be so overwhelming, and then the traffic afterward can be such a nightmare. I’m sure I’ll be able to hear my fair share of fireworks being set off throughout the day, and maybe even be able to see some small displays from my yard. I think that’ll be enough for me this year!

This meal has nothing at all to do with the 4th of July, but you should still make it! I love meals that can be made in just one pot or skillet. Seriously… the less dishes I have to wash, the better. Washing dishes is probably my least favorite chore, and sometimes it seems like they are never ending. I get through one stack of dishes, only to then cook another meal, and have another stack to wash. Maybe someday I’ll be able to get a robot to help me around the kitchen, and clean up my messes. This pasta is worth washing a couple dishes for though. The smoked sausage and spicy tomatoes give it so much flavor, and I love the pop of freshness and color from the baby spinach. Even Ron will eat spinach when it’s mixed into a pasta dish like this šŸ™‚

Spicy Sausage Pasta Skillet

Spicy Sausage Pasta Skillet

ServesĀ 4

Ingredients:

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

12 oz smoked turkey or chicken sausage, sliced

2 large shallots, or 1 small onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 cups chicken broth

10 oz Rotel (or canned tomatoes with green chiles)

1/2 cup half and half

8 oz pasta (rotini, penne, or other similar sized pasta)

4 cups baby spinach

Parmesan cheese, for topping

Directions:

1. Place a large skillet over medium-high heat and add oil. Add sausage and shallots (or onions), and saute for about 5 minutes, just until starting to curl and brown. Add garlic, and saute about 30 seconds.

2. Add chicken broth, Rotel, half and half and pepper. Increase heat to high, and bring to a boil. Add pasta and stir to combine. Place lid on skillet, and simmer for 10-12 minutes (or more depending on pasta), until pasta is cooked to your liking. Ā (The mixture may look curdled when you remove the lid, but stir it around a bit and it’ll come together, so don’t worry!!) Add baby spinach, stir to combine, and cook another minute until the spinach is wilted. Top with Parmesan cheese, when serving.

Source:Ā Iowa Girl Eats

2 thoughts on “Spicy Sausage Pasta Skillet

  1. Happy 4th of July! Have fun at your parents and say hi to them for us šŸ™‚ This dish looks quick and yummy. I love dishes with pasta and a creamy sauce and this looks just like it fits the bill!

Leave a Reply

