Three-Cheese, Rosemary and Pepperoni Pizza

So we’ve been continuing to have our weekly pizza nights for a while now, and I’m becoming more and more confident and comfortable with my pizza making skills. I’ve discovered that sometimes rolling out your dough, rather than just stretching it makes things go more smoothly, and I’ve also found that using parchment paper to make my pizza on and transfer it to the oven, cuts down on 99.99% of the stress I was feeling about pizza making. It seriously makes things go so smoothly, and I no longer feel my blood pressure rising as I try to slide my pizza off the peel and into the oven. I usually just let it bake the entire way on the parchment paper, and I haven’t had a problem, but you can also slide it out a few minutes into the cooking time, when the dough as cooked enough to do so. I really love this method!

This three-cheese, pepperoni and rosemary pizza is fabulous! Ron declared it his favorite pizza so far, and while I still think the clam, bacon and onion pizza has been my favorite, this is in my top 3! I used fresh rosemary from my garden, and it made me feel so accomplished that I was using an ingredient that I grew myself! I can’t wait until I have more than just herbs to pick. You should definitely make this pizza! You are pretty much guaranteed to love it- unless you don’t like pepperoni, or rosemary or cheese… then I suppose this won’t be your cup of tea 🙂

Three-cheese rosemary and pepperoni pizza

Three-Cheese Rosemary and Pepperoni Pizza

Makes one 12-14 inch pizza

Ingredients:

1/2 pizza dough recipe (or about 1 lb pizza dough)

About 1/2 cup sauce (I used the super simple tomato sauce)

8 oz mozzarella cheese, shredded

6 oz Fontina, shredded

2 oz ricotta (about 1/4 cup)

2 Tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

Pepperoni slices (however much you want)

Directions:

1. Place a pizza stone on the bottom rack of the oven, and preheat oven to 500 degrees. Let preheat for an hour before baking pizza.

2. Stretch or roll out your pizza dough on a piece of parchment paper, set on your pizza peal (if you have one). Top with sauce. Sprinkle on about 3/4 of the mozzarella and fontina cheeses. Drop about 1 Tbsp spoonfuls of the ricotta on top. Place your pepperoni pieces on the pizza (as much as you want!). Sprinkle the rosemary over the top. Top with the remaining mozzarella and fontina cheeses.

3. Slide pizza (on parchment) onto your baking stone, and bake for about 14 minutes. Remove from oven, and let sit for about 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

Source: Smells Like Home

7 thoughts on “Three-Cheese, Rosemary and Pepperoni Pizza

  1. That pizza looks amazing…I think I can smell it from here 🙂 I like the idea of the parchment. Where did you learn that? Do you put the parchment on the peel? I will try that next week when I make our weekly pizza.

    • I don’t really remember where I learned about the parchment trick (maybe seriouseats.com?). I think I’ve read about it various places, and I finally decided to try it out! I put the parchment right on the peel, and make the pizza right on it. I slide it into the oven from the peal with the parchment underneath. I haven’t had any problems with it, and it’s made pizza making so much easier! Let me know how it goes for you!

  2. Three cheeses! Wow, looks great. I cheat and use puff pastry to make a similar ‘pizza’. I also made a three cheese focaccia bread which was nice. I’d never thought about rosemary and pepperoni before but I bet it’s a really nice combination.

    • I hadn’t thought of combining pepperoni and rosemary before either, but when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it out! It was really delicious! I’ve never used puff pastry to make a pizza on before, but it sounds like it’d be wonderful. I’ll have to give it a try!!

  3. Why do you always make such gross food? Last night I made a delicious raw oat quinoa hamburger, much better than this cheesy meaty crispy travesty you call dinner

    • I guess we can’t all be as healthy and virtuous as you “Le Nos”!! I have no doubt that your raw oat quinoa hamburger was as tasty as this pizza, and will be sure to put them on the menu when we have you over for dinner, with the addition of some alfalfa sprouts on the side.

  4. Pingback: Sausage Cacciatore | I'll Have Seconds!

Leave a Reply

