Pan-Roasted Swordfish Steaks with Mixed-Peppercorn Butter

Some of my favorite memories of my childhood took place on Cape Cod where my family and I vacationed for more than a decade of my life. We always rented a house, called “The Manor House” with my mom’s family- my grandparents, her brothers and their families, and of course my mom, dad and my brothers. The house we stayed on was located on a small bay- Lewis Bay- in West Yarmouth. We spent a week there every summer playing on the beach, digging for clams on what we dubbed “clam island”, catching sea squirts, going on whale watches, having an annual lobster night (my favorite!!!), going to our favorite pottery place (Scargo) and doing many, many other exciting things. In addition to our lobster night, one of the things I remember eating on Cape Cod was swordfish. I don’t remember having it many other times I my life other than on Cape Cod. When I saw that it was on sale at Whole Foods this weekend I just knew I had to buy some. I found a super simple recipe for it on Epicurious, and it turned out fantastic…. And it brought back those wonderful memories of Cape Cod. I should definitely cook swordfish more often!

Pan-Roasted Swordfish Steaks with Mixed-Peppercorn Butter

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, at room temperature

2 tsp fresh parsley, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 tsp freshly ground mixed peppercorns, plus more for sprinkling

1/2 tsp grated lemon zest, packed

1 Tbsp olive oil

4 1-inch thick swordfish fillets (about 6-oz each)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. In a small bowl mix together the butter, parsley, garlic, 1/2 tsp ground peppercorns, and lemon zest. Season to taste with salt. Set aside.

3. Place a large heavy (ovenproof) skillet over medium-high heat, and add oil. Season swordfish on both sides with salt, and ground mixed peppercorns. Place in skillet, and cook about 3 minutes, until browned. Flip over, and transfer to oven. Cook 10 minutes longer, or until cooked through.

4. Remove swordfish to a plate, and place skillet back over medium-high heat. Add butter mixture and cook until melted and bubbling, scraping up the fond (the brown bits) on the bottom of the pan. Pour over swordfish and serve.

Source: Epicurious.com

4 thoughts on “Pan-Roasted Swordfish Steaks with Mixed-Peppercorn Butter

  1. That looks delicious! I have never had swordfish. Is it a strong fish? I would love to try it. Your memories of the Cape sound awesome:) I love it there too 🙂

Leave a Reply

