Blackened Fish Tacos with Cilantro Lime Slaw and Chipotle Aioli

Blackened Fish Tacos with Cilantro Lime Slaw and Chipotle Aioli

The tacos strike once again! Seriously, I think I could eat tacos every day for the rest of my life and never tire of them. There are just so many ways to make them, and so many wonderful combinations to explore. Did I ever tell you how my brother used to hate tacos, thinking they were not enough for a meal?! Taco night was one of my favorite family dinners growing up. I would get so excited, and be thinking about dinner all day long. My brother, on the other hand, would endlessly moan and groan about it, saying they were basically just sandwiches, and thus, boring…. ummm.. okay?! Obviously, he was crazy. Luckily he has changed his tune, and now understands the wonderfulness that is the taco. When Ron told me he had never had fish tacos, it became my mission in life to make some. This gave me an excuse to put tacos on the menu again, and also gave me a use for some of the tilapia in my freezer. I also had half a head of cabbage in my refrigerator begging to be made into a slaw, so it was definitely meant to be. These tacos were awesome! A little spicy from the Cajun seasoning and the chipotle aioli, and balanced out by the refreshing and light cilantro lime slaw. So so good!

Blackened Fish Tacos with Cilantro Lime Slaw and Chipotle Aioli

Blackened Fish Tacos 

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 lb flaky white fish (I used tilapia)

3 Tbsp butter, melted

2 Tbsp Cajun seasoning (store-bought or homemade- I used this recipe)

2 Tbsp olive oil

8 corn tortillas

Cilantro lime slaw (recipe follows)

Chipotle Aioli (recipe follows)

Directions:

1. Brush fish with melted butter, and sprinkle on both sides with seasoning.

2. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat for 2 minutes. Add fish and cook for about 3 minutes on each side, until fish is cooked through. Remove from pan, and flake with a fork.

3. To assemble tacos- warm corn tortillas in a a skillet, or in the microwave. Put some fish in the tortilla, add some slaw, and top with chipotle aioli.

Source: Tide and Thyme

Cilantro Lime Slaw

Ingredients:

4 cups cabbage, finely shredded

1/3 cup cilantro, chopped

4 Tbsp lime juice

2 Tbsp vegetable oil

Salt, to taste

Directions:

1. Add all ingredients to a large bowl, and toss to combine. Chill for at least an hour before serving, to allow flavors to meld.

Source: Muy Bueno Cookbook

Chipotle Aioli

Ingredients:

1/3 cup mayonnaise

3 Tbsp sour cream

3 Tbsp chipotles in adobo sauce, chopped

2 Tbsp cilantro, chopped

Juice from 1/2 a lime

Directions:

1. Add all ingredients to a small bowl, and mix together to combine. If you’d like the aioli to be a smoother consistency, you can blend all the ingredients together in a food processor.

Source: Tide and Thyme

15 thoughts on “Blackened Fish Tacos with Cilantro Lime Slaw and Chipotle Aioli

  1. They look so good! Will try next week! Enjoyed reading about your trip to D.C. Great cloud photos! Were they of today 6/17? The clouds were crazy and dramatic!

  2. Ok…I am seriously going to make shrimp tacos in the next week!!!! I agree, tacos are amazing!!! Yours look delicious!

  3. Pingback: Grilled Shrimp Tacos with Mango Jalapeno Slaw | Inspirations Fine Catering, Inc.

  4. Pingback: Cilantro Lime Rice | I'll Have Seconds!

  5. Pingback: Braised Chicken Tacos | I'll Have Seconds!

  6. I just made the salmon fish tacos with the same recipe and they came out tasting SOO very delicious!

    The spicy aioli was a perfect match for the fresh cabbage and cilantro slaw.

    We will definitely be making these again!

  7. Have tried these one time already and my boyfriend was so impressed by by cooking ability. Very easy to follow recipe and great flavor combination. Tomorrow I am going to try plain greek yogurt for the chipotle aioli sauce instead of sour cream. I may try a different type of fish as well. So far I have tried tilapia which was delicious!

  8. These are absolutely delicious. I will never use another recipe for fish tacos! They’ve become such a hit in my house. That aioli too…. Mmmmmmmm!

Leave a comment