Super Saturday

It’s Super Saturday once again! Yippee 🙂 Tomorrow is Ron’s birthday, but we started his celebration today with a lunch out at Outback steakhouse courtesy of his parents!! It was delicious…. I got the Alice Springs chicken which I had heard of but had never tried. It was wonderful… I mean how can you go wrong with chicken smothered in cheese, mushrooms and bacon. Ron got steak of course, and for an appetizer we shared the crab stuffed mushrooms- soooo yum! And the service was great as well. Tomorrow I’ll be cooking some treats for Ron and he plans on celebrating his birthday by sitting on the couch and watching Top Gear all day.

So here’s some things I’ve been up to this week…

Reading:

Jane Austen Quote

This Jane Austen quote is just so, so true!

Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – I finished The Prisoner of Azkaban last Sunday, and of course I had to immediately start the next book in the Harry Potter saga. I remember when these books were being released, and you actually had to wait for the next one to be written in order to find out what happened!! Oh the anticipation! Now it’s just like binge watching shows on Netflix, which is my preferred way of watching television. Waiting a week for a new episode? Waiting for commercials to end so you can get back to the episode? That is so foreign to me now! I guess these really are the days of instant gratification.

The Round House

The Round House by Louise Erdrich- As I mentioned last week, we had our book club this week to discuss A Fault in Our Stars. We were all pretty unanimous in liking the book, but also all found it to be one of the saddest we’ve read… and now our next book, The Round House, is set to be a sad and tough read as well… although my guess is that it’ll lack the levity and humor that The Fault in Our Stars included. I haven’t read anything by Louise Erdrich, and I don’t know much about the book other than the fact that it tackles difficult subject matter (rape), that it takes place on a Native American reservation, and that it’s been compared to To Kill A Mockingbird (which I loved). I’m only a chapter in, but I have high hopes, even though I know that it will be a hard book to read.

Rewatching:

Friends– because it’s my favorite show ever, and it always puts me in a good mood. Here are just a few of my favorite moments:

Occupation... dinosaurs

Pivot!

My sandwich?!?!?

Miss Chanandler Bong

Drooling Over:

Vietamese Spring Rolls (aka Summer Rolls) – These just look so delicious and fresh and perfect for summer! I want to eat them all right now! The hard part will be choosing just which one I want to make first…

These Spicy Summer Rolls with Peanut Dipping Sauce from Gourmet

These Lobster Summer Rolls from The New York Times

These Spicy Lentil Summer Rolls from The Sprouted Kitchen

These Shrimp, Avocado and Rice Noodle Spring Rolls from Cookin’ Canuck

These Vegetable Spring Rolls with Spicy Peanut Sauce from The Kitchn

These BLT Spring Rolls from White on Rice Couple

These Fresh Rolls with Shrimp and Honey Lime Slaw from The Lemon Bowl

These Fresh Chicken Spring Rolls from Heather Christo 

Lusting After:

These Claudia Pearson Dog Plates

from West Elm

from West Elm

The “Shoreline Simplicity Dress”

from Modcloth

from Modcloth

This French Cheese Art Print

from Geraldine Adams on etsy.com

from Geraldine Adams on etsy.com

This “Vintage Blacksmith Pot Rack”

from Pottery Barn

from Pottery Barn

Have a happy weekend everyone 🙂

4 thoughts on “Super Saturday

  1. Looks like you gave Ronnie a GREAT birthday week-end 🙂 Thank-you,thank-you!!! The food looks great too! Love the Jane Austen quote. I vote for the Summer Lobster Roll. And I really like that dress…simple and cool 🙂

  2. I saw that lobster roll recipe in the NY times. It looks like a winner. Those are the most adorable plates ever! I think that I saw them in Crate and Barrel or a similar store!

    • I really do need to make them at some point this summer- they look so delicious! … and I LOVE the plates so much!! These are from West Elm, but maybe Crate and Barrel has similar ones too!

Leave a comment